Nominations Open for Justice Partner of the Month

Would you like to nominate an organization for Justice Partner?  Each month the Church supports a social justice organization by donating one Sunday’s plate collection to the organization.  Nominations for new partners and support for existing partners should be sent to the Action Council (email or phone an action council member) before Sat, Mar 12.

Congregants are invited to propose organizations for inclusion in the Justice Partner program.  The Action Council will review the current and proposed recipients and present a slate of partners for the 2022-23 fiscal year at the Annual Meeting on April 24 for a congregational vote. 

Factors that are given priority in creating the slate of organizations are: 

  • UUCPA congregants actively involved with the group;A preference for local groups;
  • Who they serve and what they do;
  • What is their funding base and will our donation have an impact;
  • A balance of causes among different issues, such as poverty, environment, etc.

If you would like to nominate an organization to support, or voice your support for a currently supported organization, please email or call one of us, before Sat, Mar 12.  For nominations of new organizations, please provide information to help the Action Council with our decision, including:

  • Organization name and location;
  • Organization website;
  • Who they serve and what they do;
  • Your relationship with the group.

UUCPA is supporting the following organizations for the current fiscal year (2021-22):

American Muslim VoiceShowing Up for Racial Justice (SURJ)
Interfaith Movement for Human Integrity (IM4HI)California Clean Money Campaign
OutletAbilityPath (formerly Abilities United)
Ada’s CafeCalifornia Interfaith Power and Light
Hotel de ZinkHeart and Home
South Bay Sanctuary CovenantCommunity Health Awareness Council

More information is on the

Thank you from Action Council:

Sally Ahnger (Justice Partner Coordinator), Chris Cassell, Jane Glauz (Emeritus), Sean Hansen, Kristi Iverson (Chair), Chris Kan, Edie Keating, Tina Kochel, Jessica Martin, Karen Skold